If host notifications are enabled, Visitors will alert someone of every visitor that signs in. When a visitor does not select a host, a notification is sent to the fallback contact(s).
About fallback notifications
As an Envoy administrator, you may be receiving fallback notifications. Here’s why: If you’re using host notifications, your sign-in fields will include the host field. You have the option to set this field to required or not required. If it is not required, a visitor can sign in without selecting a host.
When this happens, Envoy wants to ensure that someone on your team knows about this visitor, so a fallback notification is sent. Fallback notifications are enabled for your account by default, but you disable them or change your fallback notification contact at any time. Learn more.
Note: If you want one person to get every notification, regardless of having a host or who that host is, please contact support and ask them to add this feature for you.
How fallback notifications work
If you’re using host notifications, your sign-in fields will include the host field. You have the option to set this field to required or not required. If it is not required, visitors can sign in without selecting a host.
When a host is not selected, Envoy does not “know” who the visitor is there to see. In this case, a notification will be automatically sent to the fallback contact or contacts.
Benefits of fallback notifications
Ensure that someone on your team is aware of the visitor and is notified to greet them.
Provides flexibility for locations that prefer to keep their host field set to “not required.”
How to enable Fallback notifications
Locate Fallback notifications and click "Enable".
You can disable fallback notifications completely or change your fallback contact.
Tip: If you plan to disable fallback notifications, please consider setting your host field to required. This way, the correct person will always receive a notification.
How to change the fallback contact(s)
Locate Fallback notifications and click “Edit”.
Under Fallback notification contacts, you’ll select the employees that should receive fallback notifications.
Add employees here by typing their names.
Remove employees by clicking the X beside their name.
How to disable fallback notifications
Locate Fallback notifications and click “Edit.”
We will only send a fallback notification if the host field is left blank
If the host field has been removed from the sign in flow we will not send a notification to anyone (fallback included)
We will send fallback notifications via any method enabled on the account as long as the fallback contact has those turned on as well
If there is no front desk admin, the notifications will go to the location admin.