No matter what Envoy product you’re using, we recommend having a dedicated iPad set up on your front desk (for Envoy Visitors) or your delivery area (for Envoy Deliveries).

It’s also a good practice to enable guided access on all of your Envoy iPads. Guided access is an Apple feature that’s built into every iPad. It limits your device to a single app and lets you control which app features are available.

Basically, this means that visitors and employees cannot close out of any Envoy app and open a different app like games or web browsers.

  1. On the iPad, open the iPad Settings App.

  2. Locate and tap on Accessibility.

  3. Under Accessibility, scroll down to locate Guided Access.

  4. Click into Guided Access, toggle Guided Access to on.

  5. Exit the Settings App and open Envoy.

  6. While on the Envoy welcome screen, press the home button three times in a row, quickly.

    1. If you have an iPad Pro or an iPad with no home button, you can activate Guided Access by triple-clicking the lock button.

    2. For more information, please check out this guide from Apple: Use Guided Access on iPad

  7. You’ll see this screen appear.

  8. Tap Start in the top right corner. You can disregard the instructions to “Circle areas on the screen…”

  9. Enter a passcode that your whole team will know/remember.

    1. You need this passcode to enable and disable Guided Access. If you do not remember the passcode once Guided Access has been enabled you will be unable to exit the Envoy app.

  10. Now, Guided Access is enabled and Envoy is the only app allowed.

  11. To end Guided Access mode, triple-click the home button again, input your passcode, and tap End in the top left corner.

✨ Important Notes:

  • If you have an iPad Pro or an iPad with no home button, all the steps above are the same except on step 6 you can activate Guided Access by triple-clicking the lock button.

  • For more information, please check out this guide from Apple: Use Guided Access on iPad

  • If you’re using iOS version 12.1.1 or above, you will want to turn on the Mirror Display Auto-Lock

  • Under Guided Access, turn on Mirror Display Auto-Lock. When this is on, Guided Access will mirror the Auto-Lock setting in Display & Brightness. When off, Guided Access will turn off the screen after 20 minutes of inactivity.

Did this answer your question?