Skip to main content

Data privacy features

Learn how you can support compliance efforts and offer more data privacy options to your visitors.


How data privacy features work

With data privacy features, you specify how a visitor’s personal data will be processed at your company. To provide flexibility, Envoy can collect visitor consent and display a data policy. Here’s how it works:

  • A small message is added to the first screen in your sign-in flow. This message informs visitors that their information will be processed in accordance with your data policy.

  • When collecting visitor consent, an opt-out option is displayed in this message.

  • You can also enable data policy disclosure, which lets your visitors view your data policy. When enabled, the option to read the policy also gets added to the message on the iPad.

Benefits of enabling data privacy features

  • Increased flexibility over your visitor data policy

  • Support compliance efforts for regulations like the EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR)

Enabling data privacy features

This is the “master” feature that lets visitors know their data will be processed.

  1. Navigate to Manage > Location Settings in your Envoy dashboard.

  2. Under Data privacy, find Visitor consent and data policy and click lick Enable.

  3. Toggle on Visitor consent, and update the Final screen message as needed.

  4. Click Save

    Enabling Visitor consent will display text on the iPad sign-in flow. Visitors can simply click the underlined text to decline consent and be taken to a final screen with your message.

Data policy disclosure

Enabling the Visitor Data policy allows Visitors to click underlined text to view your policy.

  1. Under Data privacy, find Visitor consent and data policy, and ensure Data policy is toggled to the On position.

  2. Type or paste your data policy in the available text area.

    1. Bold and italic formatting is available.

  3. Click Save.

Note: To preview how your data policy will look on the iPad, click “iPad Preview.”

Final message

The final message appears any time a visitor does not consent to data collection. By default, this message reads "Please ask the front desk for assistance".

You can edit the final message to let the visitor know what to do next. For example, you could direct them to your receptionist, tell them to contact their host, or provide other custom details.

  1. Navigate to Manage > Location Settings in your Envoy dashboard.

  2. Under Data privacy, find Visitor consent and data policy, and ensure Visitor consent is set to “on”.

  3. Type or paste your custom instructions in the available text area below the Final screen message.

  4. If you'd like to reset the message back to "Please ask the front desk for assistance." Simply click Reset to default.

  5. Click “Save.”

Important notes

As your company defines its data privacy policy, you may determine that your visitor data should only be stored for a certain period of time.

Learn more about managing data retention.

With Envoy, you can request data anonymization at any time simply by contacting us.

Did this answer your question?